An interview to start us off

Wow!  I did not expect the enthusiastic response to this idea!  Thank you for your comments here, and at the church.  I’ve heard many of you have acquired the book and are starting to read and are waiting for more info from me …

So here is a teaser to get you going, an interview done with John Dominic Crossan and Marcus Borg, writers of The First Christmas: What the Gospels Really Teach About Jesus’ Birth.

 

And here is a tentative schedule of upcoming posts on the book itself:

Throughout Advent, I aim to update Sundays, Tuesdays and Thursdays.  Each day I’ll deal with a chapter of the book, as outlined below:

Part 1: Parable, Overture and Context

  • Sunday December 3: The Stories of the First Christmas
  • Tuesday December 5: Parables as Overtures
  • Thursday December 7: The Context of the Christmas Stories

Part 2: Genealogy, Conception, and Birth

  • Sunday December 10: Genealogy as Destiny
  • Tuesday December 12: An Angel Comes to Mary
  • Thursday December 14: In David’s City of Bethlehem

Part 3: Light, Fulfillment, and Joy

  • Sunday December 17: Light Against the Darkness
  • Tuesday December 19: Jesus as the Fulfillment of Prophecy
  • Thursday December 21: Joy to the World

Appendix 3: Thursday December 28:   Jesus’s Coming-of-Age in Luke

Feel free to post any initial responses here, and I’ll post another introductory post next Tuesday, November 28th.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s